First Ascents for Washington *

* compiled by Bill Jacobs


In the following table the name of each county is followed by the date and surname of the first county highpointer(s) to have visited its highpoint(s). Virgin counties are indicated by "V" in the date column.

-------------- -------- -----------------------
Adams6/8/1994 Roper
Asotin7/31/1994 Roper
Benton7/30/1994 Roper
Chelan9/2/1986 Roper
Clallam5/23/1994 Roper
Clark7/9/1994 Roper
Columbia6/30/1991 Roper
Cowlitz7/16/1994 Roper
Douglas4/5/1994 Roper, Everett, Robbins T
Ferry9/14/1992 Roper
Franklin8/2/1994 Roper
Garfield7/31/1994 Roper
Grant7/8/1994 Roper
Grays Harbor5/14/1994 Roper
Island5/9/1993 Jones
Jefferson8/21/1961 Lilley
King7/17/1988 Bolton
Kitsap3/28/1993 Jones
Kittitas7/17/1988 Bolton
Klickitat8/10/1987 Schuler
Lewis7/11/1994 Roper
Lincoln6/10/1994 Roper
Mason6/11/1992 Roper
Okanogan5/25/1986 Roper
Pacific5/24/1994 Roper
Pend Oreille6/9/1994 Roper
Pierce8/2/1950 Johnson
San Juan4/15/1994 Roper
Skagit7/28/1968 Roper
Skamania*8/19/1967 Roper
Snohomish8/10/1958 Lilley
Spokane9/6/1992 Roper
Stevens9/30/1992 Roper
Thurston10/27/1993 Roper
Wahkiakum7/8/1994 Roper
Walla Walla7/31/1994 Roper
Whatcom8/14/1958 Lilley
Whitman8/2/1994 Roper
Yakima8/17/1958 Lilley

*The original highpoint, as Mt St Helens, blew up in 1980. The new highpoint, Skamania Pinnacle, was visited by J Roper on July 17, 1994.

go to Washington state report page